Two Wine Estates Shine at SA Terroir Awards

Reblogged from Novare SA Terroir Awards

After a record 322 entries for the 11th Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards, two wine estates in the Cape wine industry terroir stood out clearly with top achievements.

Bergsig Estate in the Breedekloof produced two National Winners for Top Red Blend with the Bergsig Icarus 2011, and for the Top Port-style wine with the Bergsig Cape LBV 2003. The latter was also adjudged one of the SA Terroir Top 5 Estate Wines and is the wine with the highest score among all the entries. In addition, another four wines from Bergsig received high scores and three of them were designated area winners.

For all these achievements, Bergsig Estate was awarded the Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Estate and the SA Terroir Top Producer.

This year sees the first ever Novare Trophy for South Africa’s Top Single Vineyard Wine, since a single vineyard wine is the best representation of a specific terroir. Doolhof Estate in Wellington won this trophy with the Doolhof Single Vineyard Malbec 2014. This was one of the wines which achieved the highest scores among all the entries and was also selected as the National Winner for Malbec. In addition, Doolhof Estate produced the National Winner for White Blend, the Doolhof Lady in White 2010.

Doolhof’s achievement, along with one of the Top 5 Estate Wines coming from Wellington, the Linton Park Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2012, as well as many other wines from that area achieving above average scores, especially those from La Cave, Linton Park, Welbedacht, Diemersfontein and Napier, has ensured that Wellington District receives the Novare Trophy for SA Terroir Top Area.

Another top achiever this year was Cederberg Cellar with three National Winners. Two of their wines come from the Cederberg ward (the Five Generations Cabernet Sauvignon 2014 and Five Generations Chenin Blanc 2014) and one from the Elim ward (the Ghost Corner Pinot Noir 2015).

Neethlingshof Estate, KWV, Conradie Family Vineyards and Elsenburg Agricultural College have also stood out with more than one National Winner being awarded to them, while Rainbow’s End Estate’s Cabernet Franc 2014 is a National Winner and one of the Top 5 Estate Wines. Bon Courage Estate once again made its mark with the National Winner for Colombar and one of the Top 5 estate wines.

For the first time ever in the eleven years of the competition, Cinsaut wines were entered and one stood out, die Kaapzicht Cinsaut 2015. This wine is the first National Winner for Cinsaut. Kaapzicht Estate is in the Bottelary ward of the Stellenbosch district and this wine terroir is also known for its link to the history of Pinotage, a hybrid of Cinsaut and Pinot Noir.

The National Winners of the 2016 Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards are Cederberg Five Generations Cabernet Sauvignon 2014, Cederberg Five Generations Chenin Blanc 2014, Cederberg Ghost Corner Pinot Noir 2015, Elsenburg Mourvedre 2015, Elsenburg Tannat 2013, Elsenburg Pinotage Rosé 2015, KWV The Mentors Chardonnay 2013, KWV The Mentors Semillon 2014, Conradie Family Vineyards Frederich Conrady MCC 2009, Conradie Family Vineyards Muscadel 2009, Neethlingshof Gewurztraminer 2016, Neethlingshof Single Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc 2016, Doolhof Single Vineyard Malbec 2014, Doolhof Lady in White 2010, Bergsig Cape LBV 2003, Bergsig Icarus 2011 (red blend), Groot Constantia Pinotage 2014, Rainbow’s End Cabernet Franc 2014, Kaapzicht Cinsaut 2015, Bon Courage Andre’s Fame Colombar 2016, Anura Merlot Reserve 2014, Slanghoek Private Selection NLH 2013, Koelfontein Shiraz 2012, De Krans Tinta Roriz 2014 and Lynx Viognier 2015.

South Africa’s Top 5 Estate wines were also adjudged according to the five estate wines with the highest average score. They are Wildekrans Barrel Select Reserve Chenin Blanc 2015, Rainbow’s End Cabernet Franc 2014, Linton Park Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2012, Bon Courage Noble Late Harvest 2015 and Bergsig Cape LBV 2003.

This year’s judges were Jeff Grier, Kris Snyman, David Biggs, Karen Glanfield, Pierre Marais, Elize Coetzee and Lizelle Gerber.

The sponsor Novare has been involved since the first competition in 2006 and according to Candice Danneberg, head of marketing, Novare’s business ethos is built on passion and commitment. “Like Novare, these awards strive for excellence and innovation in their craft.”

Leave a Comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - R0.00